Juneteenth and the Meaning of Freedom: A Reflection by PSR Professor Dr. Leonard McMahon
X
Home » TEL Course: Introduction to Theological Ideas for Social Transformation » TEL Course: Introduction to Theological Ideas for Social Transformation

Introduction to Theological Ideas for Social Transformation, with Dr. Jay Johnson offers an introduction to theological thinking and theological ideas as these relate broadly to our cultural contexts and the ongoing work of social transformation. “Theology” means both simply and broadly “words about God.” In Christian traditions, however, those words about God have always been rooted in and return often to reflection on Jesus Christ; who God is and even what the word “God” means must always be evaluated with reference to Jesus

 

COURSE DATES & TIMES

Before Daylight Savings ends: 9am – 12pm Hawaii  |  12pm – 3pm Pacific  |  3pm – 6pm Eastern

After Daylight Savings ends (11/6/22): 9am – 12pm  Hawaii | 11am – 2pm Pacific | 2pm – 5pm Eastern

Saturday Nov 5th: 3-hour class session on Zoom

Saturday Nov 12th: Coursework | use of study groups recommended

Saturday Nov 19th: 3-hour class session on Zoom

Saturday Dec 2: due date for final assignment

 

COST

$225 General Public | $210 Current PSR Students

1.6 CEUs available @ additional $35

Special pricing has been negotiated for UCC Hawaii, TFAM, MCC L.E.A.D. & CTEL Continuing students. Identify your group on the Registration Form.

 

REGISTRATION

Registration must be submitted by 5pm PST, Wednesday, November 2nd.

The course fee must be paid before the start of the 1st class session.

 

FOR MORE INFORMATION

Visit the TEL site or contact Re. Tana Roseboro, TEL Program Coordinator — troseboro@psr.edu | 510.849.8267

 

Theological Education for Leadership (TEL)

TEL programs provide progressive, accessible Christian theological education year-round through special courses and seminars for clergy, laity, and spiritual seekers from diverse racial/ethnic communities. Using PSR’s “flexible learning” approach, TEL fosters a strong and supportive community environment while enabling participation at a distance through online learning. CEU’s available for individual courses and seminars.

Share this: