A Call to Queer Solidarity: A Reflection by CLGS's Transgender Roundtable Coordinator, Rev. Jakob Hero-Shaw
X
Home » TEL Course: Introduction to Liberation Theology » TEL Course: Introduction to Liberation Theology

This intensive course, taught by Rev. Dr. Charles Watterson, introduces students to the core principles and perspectives of Liberation Theology. Liberation Theology is a theological movement that seeks to address issues of social justice, oppression, and inequality through the lens of Christian faith. Participants will explore the historical development, key thinkers, and practical applications of Liberation Theology in various contexts. This course aims to equip students with a deeper understanding of how theology can be a tool for societal transformation and liberation. This course meets on November 4, 11 & December 2.

 

Rev. Dr. Charles L.A. Watterson is a 21st-century transformational leader with over two decades of experience in education, entertainment, psychology, and ministry. He holds a Master of Science in Organizational Management, a Master of Science in Education, and a bachelor’s degree in Social Science. Dr. Watterson has earned his Doctorate in Ministry degree from Drew University and is a continuing scholar deepening his studies at Methodist Theological School in Ohio. As the CEO of ReConstructive Strategic Services and Solutions, LLC, he has a successful track record of leadership, social justice advocacy, curriculum development, and coaching within educational, community, and faith-based institutions.

An ordained minister of the United Church of Christ and The Fellowship of Affirming Ministries, Dr. Watterson is known for his spiritual leadership, administration, musicianship, and life coaching. His career includes roles as an administrator, educator, and pastor. Dr. Watterson’s commitment to fostering inclusive, expansive, and culturally responsive environments is evident in his dedication to equity and anti-racist principles. He, along with his partner, is a passionate advocate for holistic development, social justice, and the transformation of individuals and communities.

 

COURSE DATES & TIMES

This course meets on 3 Saturdays: Nov 4, Nov 11, Dec 2

Before Daylight Savings ends: 9am – 12pm Hawaii  |  12pm – 3pm Pacific  |  3pm – 6pm Eastern

After Daylight Savings ends (11/5/23): 9am – 12pm  Hawaii | 11am – 2pm Pacific | 2pm – 5pm Eastern

 

COST

$225 General Public | $210 Current PSR Students

1.6 CEUs available @ additional $35

Special pricing has been negotiated for UCC Hawaii, TFAM, MCC L.E.A.D. & CTEL Continuing students. Identify your group on the Registration Form.

Registration must be submitted by 5pm Pacific, Wednesday, Nov 1st.

The course fee must be paid before the start of the first class session.

Share this: