A Call to Queer Solidarity: A Reflection by CLGS's Transgender Roundtable Coordinator, Rev. Jakob Hero-Shaw
X
Home » Souls A’Fire 8 Conference: 20 Years of National Gathering on Black Queer Theology » Souls A’Fire 8 Conference: 20 Years of National Gathering on Black Queer Theology

The Center for LGBTQ and Gender Studies in Religion (CLGS)’s African-American Roundtable is pleased to host the 20th Anniversary and the eighth Souls A’ Fire Conference focused on the next generation of Black Queer Theology.

Souls A’Fire 8 will highlight an inclusive vision among African-American pastors, parishioners, and community leaders on the topic of welcoming and including our LGBTQ / Same-Gender Loving brothers and sisters into the life of the church community. Leading this discussion will be seminarians, professors, and pastors who will share their cutting-edge research on Black Queer Theology. Come listen to and reflect on the presentations from the next generation of thought-leaders on these transformative topics.

We are continuing the rich tradition of encouraging our young scholars in their current work as well as learning from seasoned theologians and preachers as they explore the intersections of African-American culture, the church, and LGBTQ identity. It also promises to be a time of retreat and inspiration through ritual, praise, and worship. Souls A’Fire is not a people of color space only. All are welcome!

Saturday, April 22 – Souls A’Fire 8 Conference Day One

12 pm PT/3 pm ET – Welcome, Introductions, Schedule Review, and Worship

Online Worship / Ministry of Music

Souls a’Fire Fellow Presentation: Kyndra Frazier – “Encountering Psychosis”

Souls a’Fire Respondents: Dr. Pamela Lightsey and Minister Marvin K. White

Audience Q & A

Break – 15 minutes

2 pm PT/5 pm ET – Online Worship / Ministry of Music

Souls a’Fire Fellow Presentation: Terence Mayo – “Liberating our Black Queer Divinity and Minds”

Souls a’Fire Respondents: Dr. Pamela Lightsey and Minister Marvin K. White

Audience Q & A

Closing Worship

4 pm PT/7 pm ET – Closing of Day One

Sunday, April 23 – Souls A’Fire 8 Conference Day Two

Worship Service with Glide Memorial Church San Francisco featuring Rev. Dr. Roland Stringfellow, Senior Pastor Metropolitan Community Church of Detroit and Managing Director of CLGS – 11:00 am PST on Zoom and Facebook Live

Featured Speakers

Our Souls A’Fire Fellows are Kyndra Frazier (SAF conference 4 in 2014) and Terence Mayo (SAF conference 7 in 2020).

Our Souls A’Fire Respondents are Dr. Pamela Lightsey (Meadville Lombard Theology School) and Minister Marvin White (Glide Memorial Church, San Francisco).

For more information visit Soulsafire.org

Share this: