Program Rules and Requirements

Program worksheets and checklists do not encompass all program rules and requirements, but they are often helpful for student advising. Complete program manuals, including forms, may be found on the Degree and Certificate Programs page.

Course Scheduling

All courses in the GTU course catalog are submitted by faculty through Course Scheduling Information forms to the registrar and are subjected to the approval of the Dean. Generally, the forms for the course offerings of a particular academic year must be submitted by faculty in early Fall of the previous year. Look for email reminders in early Fall.

Definition of a Credit Hour

Consult the Concerning Credit Hours document to gauge the amount of work expected from students for 3.0 and 1.5 credit classes.

Syllabi Guidelines

PSR syllabi or revisions of syllabi are due to the Dean’s Office before each registration period and are required to be filed by the Dean’s Office unless otherwise noted. Syllabi can serve many purposes for students and the instructors including but not limited to: working towards an upfront understanding between the instructor and students so as to maximize clarity on policies relating to the course; setting clear expectations of material to be learned or learning outcomes; providing a general outline and schedule of the of course organization. Course syllabi may be used for accreditation purposes and are usually made available to students during registration periods to assist them in deciding what to take. In general, course syllabi should include:

  • Basic information about the instructor, title of the course, etc.
  • General instructional schedule
    example: week by week description of lecture topics
  • Expected measurable learning outcomes for the course
  • Grading policy
  • Explicit attendance policy
  • List of key assignments on which grades will be based and their due dates
  • List of texts and readings, what is required/recommended/optional
  • Inclusion of plagiarism policy, policy for English as Second Language students, an Anti-Discrimination Statement, incomplete policyuse of technology in classrooms policy or statement that PSR has such policies and where to find them
  • We encourage PSR syllabi to include PSR’s direction statement, and if the course is an MDiv required course, inclusion of the MDiv program goals.

For more information on syllabi and guidelines on how to write learning outcomes for syllabi, please contact the Office of the Dean. Please consult sample syllabi template. For further guidance see Example 1Example 2 and Example 3.

Textbook Orders

Textbooks for PSR courses are ordered to be available for purchase through the GTU Consortial Bookstore on Amazon.com. The Dean’s Office will serve as the primary liason between faculty and the book store managers. The request for text book orders will occur sometime in the middle of the preceding semester. Please see the PSR Text Book Adoption Form and forward completed form to Dean’s Office when requested. Summer Session instructors, please refer summer course questions to the Summer Session Office.

WebAdvisor Tips

Log in to WebAdvisor to print your course roster and submit course grades.

Trouble printing your roster? Try updating your browser to Internet Explorer 7.0 or using Firefox as your browser.

Trying to email the students in your class or your advisees
as a mass emailing can be a challenge. If you would like to send out one email
to your student/advisees in a group email follow these steps:

  1. Click on “My Class Roster” or
    “My Advisees” in your WebAdvisor account
  2. Copy (ctrl C) the entire roster
  3. Open Microsoft Excel
  4. Paste (ctrl V) the roster into Excel
  5. With the entire list still highlighted go to “Edit”
    ==> “Clear” ==> “Formats”
  6. You should then be able to highlight just the email address
    column without highlighting other fields.
  7. Highlight the email address column, copy, then paste into the
    BCC field of your group email to your class/advisees.

Miscellaneous Course Forms

  • Special Reading Course forms >>
  • Teaching and Research Assistant application >>
  • Other GTU Faculty Resources for area convening and doctoral students >>

Aney, John
Associate Advancement Director
510/849-8260 | janey@psr.edu

Brody, Aaron
Robert and Kathryn Riddell Associate Professor of Bible and Archaeology
Director of the Badè Museum
510/849-8224 | abrody@psr.edu

Burns, Erin
Marketing and Communications Manager
510/849-8222 | eburns@psr.edu

Cortez, Ruben
Admissions and Financial Aid Officer
510/849-8931 | rcortez@psr.edu

Dyonzak, Terry
Director of Facilities
510/849-8254 | tdyonzak@psr.edu

Estrada, Hugo
Administrative Assistant for Academic Affairs
510/849-8233 | hestrada@psr.edu

Fennema, Sharon
Assistant Professor of Christian Worship
Director of Certificate in Sexuality and Religion
Director of Worship Life
510/849-8933 | sfennema@psr.edu

Fontenot, Deseree
Programs Manager, Center for LGBTQ and Gender Studies in Religion
510/849-8206 | dfontenot@clgs.org

Gall, Jen
Executive Assistant to the President
510/849-8241 / jgall@psr.edu

Gilliam, Grace
Associate Director of Field Education and Contextual Learning
510/849-8238 / ggilliam@psr.edu

Gonzalez, Marco
Assistant Facilities Technician
510/849-8282

Jefferson, Ann
Director of Community Life and Spiritual Care
510/849-8257 | ajefferson@psr.edu

Johnson, Jay
Visiting Assistant Professor of Theology and Culture
Academic Director of the Ignite Institute @ PSR
Director of Certificate of Spirituality and Social Change (CSSC) and Master of Arts in Social Transformation (MAST)
510/849-8235 | jjohnson@psr.edu

Lawrence, James F.
Dean of the Swedenborgian House of Studies
Assistant Professor of Spirituality and Historical Studies
510/849-8232 | jlawrence@shs.psr.edu

Leasure, Leslie A.
Program Manager, Ignite Institute @ PSR
510/849-8279 | lleasure@psr.edu

Lee, Boyung
Associate Professor of Practical Theology, Education and Spiritual Formation
Faculty Coordinator for the Changemaker Fellowship Program
Director of the API Initiative
510/849-8234 | blee@psr.edu

Lin, Yii-Jan
Assistant Professor of New Testament
510/849-8217 | ylin@psr.edu

Lockwood-Stewart, Odette
Director of Field Education and Contextual Learning
Instructor in the Practice of Ministry
510/849-8261 | olockwood@psr.edu

Maxon, Andy
Chef/Manager
510/849-8282 | amaxon@psr.edu

McCrossan, Francesca
Swedenborgian House of Studies Administrative Assistant
510/849-8228 | fmccrossan@psr.edu

McSpadden, Lucia A.
Coordinator, International Student Support
510/849-8250 | lmcspadden@psr.edu

Miller, Scott
Cook II
510/849-8282 | smiller@psr.edu

O’Leary, Patrick
Chief Business Officer
510/849-8274 | poleary@psr.edu

Radzins, Inese
Associate Professor of Theology
510/849-8932 | iradzins@psr.edu

Roman, Alex
Facilities Technician – Mechanical Trades
510/849-8276 | aroman@psr.edu

Sano, Roy
Professor Emeritus of Theology and Pacific and Asian American Ministries
510/635-7916 | bishoprsano@earthlink.net

Schlager, Bernard
Executive Director, Center for LGBTQ and Gender Studies in Religion
Associate Professor of Cultural and Historical Studies
510/849-8278 | bschlager@psr.edu

Schroeder, Rossitza
Associate Professor of Arts and Religion
510/849-8277 | rschroeder@psr.edu

Scott, Wanda
Chief Advancement Officer
510/849-8247| wscott@psr.edu

Stringfellow, Roland
Director of Umoja Project & Coordinator of the African-American Roundtable, Center for LGBTQ and Gender Studies in Religion
510/849-8934 | rstringfellow@clgs.org

Sommerville, Janice
Program Coordinator, Community & Continuing Education
510/849-8284 | jsommerville@psr.edu

Tanis, Justin
Managing Director, Center for LGBTQ and Gender Studies in Religion
510-849-8205 | jtanis@clgs.org

Taylor, Leslie Carole
Assistant Director of Recruitment and Admissions
510/849-8253 | ltaylor@psr.edu

Turner, Mary Donovan
Dean and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Carl Patton Professor of Preaching
Accreditation Liaison Officer (ALO)
510/849-8209 | mdturner@psr.edu

Vásquez-Levy, David
President
510/849-8223 | president@psr.edu

Walker, Randi J.
Professor of Church History
Doctor of Ministry Program Director
510/849-8221 | rwalker@psr.edu

PSR Media Services provides audio-visual equipment for classes, webinars, and special events sponsored by PSR faculty or staff on the PSR campus. This includes projectors, sound systems, and recording devices.

Using the form below, request equipment, services, or training no fewer than 7 working days in advance.  Last minute requests may not be honored.

Consult the Classroom Audio-Visual Equipment Policy for Faculty Instructors Teaching on the PSR Campus.

Please note: Event hosts must provide their own staff to run AV equipment.  Media Services will train event staff in the operation of necessary equipment and deliver/pick up equipment as needed.  Media Services staff are not available to operate equipment during an event, with the exception of sound in the PSR Chapel and distance learning classes/events.

Recordings will be made available to PSR staff within three weeks of a recorded event.  Event hosts or Communications staff will manage any media file storage, editing or posting to PSR web site or Vimeo.

Contact mediacenter@psr.edu or 510/849-8218 for more information.  A/V staff are available, as schedules permit, between 9:00am and 5:00pm Monday through Friday.

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Phone Number (required)

I need to

I have reserved necessary room(s), including setup/breakdown time

Event Name/Description

EVENT Date, Start, and End Times

Event Locations

If multiple locations, note which equipment is needed where & when.

Please hold down CTRL to select multiple items.

A/V Services

A/V Carts

Projection Equipment

Computers

Recording, Photography & Webinar Equipment

Audio Equipment

Cords and Cables

Additional Notes

Use the form at http://roomres.psr.edu/ and direct questions to roomreservations@psr.edu.

Room setup: Room Setup Requests must be submitted separately, 1 week in advance of the event, on a maintenance request form available at the Reception Desk. Include setup and breakdown time in the request, otherwise event planners will be responsible for both setup and breakdown. Setups are for PSR events only and are at the discretion of the Facilities Department.